Udmurtia, or the Udmurt Republic, is a federal subject of Russia (a republic) within the Volga Federal District. It is situated in the western part of the Middle Urals between the rivers Kama and Vyatka. On the west and north Udmurtia borders Kirov Oblast, on the east – Perm Krai, and on the south – the Bashkortostan and Tatarstan Republics. The Udmurt Republic covers an area of 42,100 sq. km, that is 0.25 % of the total area of the Russian Federation, and surpasses the area of such western European countries as Belgium and Switzerland. The population of Udmurtia is over 1,500 million people. There are 6 cities: Izhevsk, Votkinsk, Glazov, Mozhga, Sarapul and Kambarka, and 25 rural regions in the republic. Its capital is the city of Izhevsk. Udmurtia is a multinational republic with over 100 nationalities and many religious communities.



          Udmurt Republic flag                                                             Udmurt Republic coat of arms

udm-3                                                        udm-4

The main mineral resource of the republic is oil. The explored industrial oil reserves are about 300 million tons, with an annual production of 10 million tons. Today, all major deposits have been developed for decades and are in the stage of falling production. The republic also produces coal and peat.

Udmurtia also has industrial reserves of limestone, dolomite, building sand, crushed stone, clay for production of bricks, building stone, sand-gravel mixture. About 46% of the territory is covered with forests, half of which are coniferous.

The Udmurt Republic is a region with developed industry and diversified agricultural production. It has the highest concentration of defense enterprises in Russia. The main industries are machine building, metalworking, ferrous metallurgy, and woodworking.

Agricultural lands occupy about 50% of the territory of the republic. Rye, wheat, buckwheat, barley, oats, millet, peas, corn, sunflower, flax, rape, potatoes, vegetables, forage crops are grown.