udm-1  Izhevsk is the capital of Udmurtia or the Udmurt Republic, which is situated in the western part of the Middle Urals between the rivers Kama and Vyatka. On the west and north Udmurtia borders Kirov Oblast, on the east – Perm Krai, and on the south – the Republics of Bashkortostan and Tatarstan. The Udmurt Republic covers an area of 42,100 sq. km, approximately the same as Denmark. The population of Udmurtia is over 1,500 million people. There are 6 cities: Izhevsk, Votkinsk, Glazov, Mozhga, Sarapul and Kambarka, and 25 rural regions in the republic. Udmurtia is a multinational republic with over 100 nationalities and many religious communities.